Nigerian Institute of Physics | About Us
page-template-default,page,page-id-654,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,columns-4,qode-theme-ver-10.1.1,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.2.1,vc_responsive

About Us

The Nigerian Institute of Physics, NIP, was established in 1973 after a sojourn as a unit of the Science Association of Nigeria (SAN) Physics Section. The realization came from deliberations by some eminent Physicists among whom I can mention Prof. A.I.I. Ette, Prof. O. Awe, Prof. A. Maduemezia, Prof. P. Ogbuehi and Mr. B.E. Bassey.

The Secretariat remained in Ibadan for many years, from 1973 to 1978. In fact, the first conference on record was in 1977 in the then Ife University. The 2 nd was in the University of Benin in 1978. The President then was Prof. A.I.I. Ette who took office in 1973. The next two conferences were in 1979 in ABU Zaria and in 1980 in the University of Maiduguri respectively. Up to and including 1981, no abstracts were invited and no book of abstracts was ever produced. In 1982 all that changed; the Conference was held in the University of Calabar . The first book of abstracts was produced and the memorable ceremony was performed by the Deputy Governor of the then Cross River State, Dr. M. Offoboche.

Other Conference followed thus: 1983, UN, Nsukka; 1985, UST, Port- Harcourt; 1986, Unilorin; 1987, University of Ibadan; 1988, ABU Zaria; 1989, Uniben, Benin; 1990, OAU, Ile-Ife; 1991, Bayero University, Kano; 1992, Unijos, Jos; 1993, Unical, Calabar; 1994, Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma; 1995, Uniabuja, Abuja; 1996, Uniport, Port Harcourt; 1997, FUT, Minna; 1998, OSU, Ago Iwoye; 1999, FUT, Akure; 2000, ABU, Zaria; 2001, LAUTECH, Ogbomoso; 2002, SHEDSCO, Abuja and 2003, UDU, Sokoto and 2004, Kaduna Polytechnic, Kaduna.

The Institute has continued to make tremendous progress with the erudite scholar, Professor I. B. Osazuwa, at the helm of affairs. It now has its permanent secretariat, awaiting furnishing and occupation at the Sheda Science and Technology Complex, Abuja . It has organized several workshops, seminars and other activities. In July, 2004 a national seminar with the theme “The State of Physics Research in Nigeria : A Tour Of The Horizon” was held in The Polytechnic, Ibadan where many Nigerian Physicists from all over the country delivered their papers.

During these periods, the Presidency changed from one location to another.

The current president of the institute is Prof. D.I.Malgwi of University of Maiduguri

Former Presidents of the Institute so far have been:

1. Prof. A.I.I. Ette of Unibadan 1973-78
2. Prof. P.I. Ogbuehi of Uniben 1978-82
3. Mr. B.E. Bassey of Unical 1982-86
4. Prof. O. Olatunji of Unilag 1986-88
5. Prof. D.K.Bamgboye of Unilorin 1988-92
6. Prof. C.O. Ofoegbu of UST, P.H. 1992-96
7. Prof. A.I. Menkiti of Unical 1996-2000
8. Prof. I.B. Osazuwa of ABU, Zaria 2000-2004
9 Prof. S. F. A. Akande of Ajayi Crowther University 2004 to 2008
10 Prof Emeka E. Okwueze of UNICAL 2008 to 2013

In the 1980s the Institute embarked on a series of workshops, in collaboration with the Federal Ministry of Education. They were held in Nsukka , Benin and Zaria . Later, the Institute reverted to what it coined “Operation Teach Physics (OTP)” – on its own, when the partnership sponsorship was no more forthcoming from the Ministry. Students were taught by experienced Physics Lecturers. These lasted until late 1980s. After several unsuccessful attempts and applications, the Institute finally got its Chapter and full registration in 1997. The registration number is 5421.

The membership designation MNIP was mooted in 1985 but took off actually in 1988. In 1993 the first Fellowships of the Institute were awarded and in 1994 the Certificate of Excellence came into being.

The Nigerian Institute of Physics journal was originally known as the Bulletin of the NIP. It was first published in 1979. It was to appear three times a year. In 1983, the name of journal changed to the Nigerian Journal of Physics.

The Nigerian Institute of Physics has really made a lot of progress, however, its problems still remain basically lack of funds.